HMRC is a UK government organisation responsible for collecting taxes. Its full title is Her Majesty’s Revenue and Customs, and colloquially the organisation is known as the ‘taxman’.

On 18th April 2005 the Inland Revenue merged with Her Majesty’s Custom and Excise to create what is now HMRC.

Some of the taxes HMRC collects and its areas of responsibility include:

  • Income tax
  • National Insurance
  • VAT
  • Corporation tax
  • Capital gains tax
  • Motoring taxes
  • Inheritance tax
  • Stamp duty
  • Insurance Premium Tax
  • Air Passenger Duty
  • PAYE