Online tax return

There are several types of online tax returns filed to HMRC although the most common one is the SA100, often referred to as online self assessment. This is an online tax return for individuals paying income tax.

The tax year in the UK for individuals starts on the 6th April and continues through to the 5 April. The deadline for filing an online self assessment tax return is the 31 January following the end of the relevant tax year.

By way of example, for the tax year that starts on 6th April 2017 and ends on 5th April 2018 the relevant online tax return would need to be filed on or before 31 January 2019.

To find out more about individual returns visit HMRC to file an online tax return.

There are other types of online tax returns in addition to the SA100. The full list includes:

  • SA100 (individuals)
  • SA800 (partnerships)
  • SA900 (trusts and estates)
  • CT600 (companies)
  • P35 (employers)
  • VAT100 (value added tax)